spmcdumka@gmail.com    Airport Road, Dumka
  Friday, 18 June 2021

About the College


Santal Pargana Mahila College established on 14th December 1967. The college was granted affiliation by the then Bhagalpur University (now Tilka Manjhi Bhagalpur University) in the year 1973. The date of college’s conversion into a constituent unit is 1st April 1978. The college was handed over to the Bhagalpur University on 13th January 1981. The university took its all liabilities and assets and the college converted into a constituent unit of the university. After the establishment of a dedicated university for Santal Pargana region, the college has been approached to function under it.

Sido Kanhu Murmu University was established in the name of the two great Santal martyrs Sido and Kanhu, on 10th January 1992 by an act of Bihar Legislative Assembly published in the Bihar Gazette (executive order) dated 5th March 1992 to cater the need of higher educational facilities of Santal Pargana division carved out of the then Bhagalpur University. Its territorial jurisdiction is entire Santal Pargana division of Jharkhand state.

Science block of S. P. Mahila College
Faculty & Departments

The college has teaching facility in arts and science faculty. In all departments (as listed below) of arts and science, we teach up to Honours standard.

No. of Students (Degree Programmes):

Faculty of Arts  2600
Faculty of Science  137